Community Tailgate: Who Will Win MVP?

We’re still a few weeks away from the start of battles on the NFL gridiron, but there’s no offseason when it comes to debate amongst fans. This summer, we launched a new series here at PFR that will be known as the Community Tailgate. What’s the Community Tailgate all about? Well, it’s pretty simple. Every weekday, we’ll highlight one of the top stories going on in the NFL. Then, in the comment section below, we want you to weigh in and let us know what you think.

Of course, while the debate may get spirited, we ask that it all stays respectful. If you need a reminder of our rules, please check out our commenting policy. Basically, we ask that you refrain from inappropriate language, personal insults, and attacks. Speaking of commenting: we’ve made it much easier to leave a comment here at Pro Football Rumors. You are no longer required to be a registered user – simply put in your name, email address, and comment and submit.

Over the course of the last eight NFL seasons, only one non-quarterback has won the MVP — Adrian Peterson took home the award following a 2012 season in which he ran for nearly 2,100 yards. The recipients in the other seven years, however, are fairly predictable: Aaron Rodgers‘s name shows up twice; Tom Brady‘s does too; and Peyton Manning was named MVP three times during that stretch.

In all likelihood, 2015’s MVP award winner will also be a quarterback, and oddsmakers view Rodgers and Colts signal-caller Andrew Luck as the favorites. According to betting site, the two star QBs are the only players whose odds to win the award are better than 12-to-1. After Rodgers and Luck, the players with the highest odds to win this year’s MVP award include Peterson, Manning, Brady, J.J. Watt, Drew Brees, Russell Wilson, Jamaal Charles, Ben Roethlisberger, and Le’Veon Bell.

Looking ahead to the 2015 season, do you expect one of the players listed above to be named the NFL’s MVP, or do you like a dark horse candidate to defy the odds and win the award? Are quarterbacks simply too important for a player at any other position to take home the MVP, or will we see another player gain momentum and win the award this year, like Watt briefly threatened to do a year ago?

What do you think? Who will be the 2015 NFL MVP? Weigh in below in the comment section with your thoughts!

View Comments (2)
newest oldest

2 comments on “Community Tailgate: Who Will Win MVP?

  1. Sam Robinson

    If Watt couldn’t win it last year, I have a hard time believing he could pull this off. Roethlisberger at +2000 would appeal to me here. Maybe the most weapons he’s had in his career and coming off by far his best passing season.

  2. Dallas Robinson

    Watt is a great player, but the Texans went 2-14 in 2013 even with him having a great season. Defensive players just don’t impact the game like QBs. Put my money on Luck.


Leave a Reply