Bruce Arians Wins Coach Of The Year

Cardinals coach Bruce Arians was announced as the 2014 Coach of the Year at NFL Honors on Saturday, as Chris Wesseling of writes. Arians is now a two-time honoree, having won the award two years ago with the Colts.

Despite being in one of the league’s toughest divisions and a rash of injuries that claimed multiple quarterbacks, key defenders, and starting tailback Andre Ellington, Arians guided the Cardinals to the best record in all of football for the first half of the 2014 season. The Cardinals finished with a 11-5 mark, good for second in the division┬ábehind the Seahawks, the eventual NFC champions.

Arians won the award without much competition, though the voting wasn’t unanimous. Bill O’Brien (Texans) and Jason Garrett (Cowboys) each received three votes while Pete Carroll (Seahawks), Jim Caldwell (Lions), and Bill Belichick (Patriots) also registered votes.

View Comments (4)