Eric Winston Re-Elected As NFLPA President

Veteran offensive tackle Eric Winston was re-elected today as the president of the NFL Players Association, the union confirmed in a press release. Winston, who is currently under contract with the Bengals, ran unopposed and will now serve his second two-year term at the head of the NFLPA.Eric Winston

With the NFLPA’s board of player representatives meeting this weekend in Hawaii, the union also made some changes to its executive committee. Ryan Clark, Jay Feely, Brian Waters, and Scott Wells, who are no longer NFL players, are now no longer a part of the NFLPA executive committee.

The newest additions to the executive committee, replacing the four departing members, are Panthers linebacker Thomas Davis, Seahawks cornerback Richard Sherman, Steelers kicker Shaun Suisham, and Patriots offensive lineman Ryan Wendell. They’ll join a group that already includes Lorenzo Alexander, Zak DeOssie, Matt Hasselbeck, Mark Herzlich, Adam Vinatieri, and Ben Watson.

While the NFLPA’s new group of reps figure to deal with plenty of contentious issues over the next couple years, they won’t have to deal with the possibility of a looming lockout — the current CBA isn’t set to expire until after the 2020 season.

Photo courtesy of USA Today Sports Images.

View Comments (1)
newest oldest

One comment on “Eric Winston Re-Elected As NFLPA President

  1. timothy plum

    ran unopposed and will never serve his second two-year term at the head of the NFLPA.
    Spell check please


Leave a Reply