Beckham, Donald Named Top Rookies

Giants wideout Odell Beckham Jr. has been named the NFL’s 2014 Rookie of the Year and Offensive Rookie of the Year, the Professional Football Writers of America announced today in a press release. The PFWA also voted Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald as 2014’s Defensive Player of the Year.

Beckham, the 12th overall pick last May, got off to a late start, missing the Giants’ first four regular season games due to hamstring issues, but made up for lost time the rest of the way, compiling 1,305 receiving yards and 12 touchdowns on 91 receptions. In his final nine contests, the LSU product averaged an incredible 133 yards per game, helping to rejuvenate a passing game that was without Victor Cruz.

As for Donald, the Rams rookie was selected 13th last spring, one pick behind Beckham. The former Pittsburgh defender made a strong Rams line even better, recording nine sacks and grading as the league’s best defensive tackle, according to Pro Football Focus’ metrics (subscription required).

Here are the full All-Rookie teams, per the PFWA:


QB: Teddy Bridgewater (Vikings)
RB: Jeremy Hill (Bengals), Tre Mason (Rams)
WR: Odell Beckham Jr. (Giants), Mike Evans (Buccaneers)
TE: Jace Amaro (Jets)
C: Corey Linsley (Packers)
G: Joel Bitonio (Browns), Zack Martin (Cowboys)
T: Taylor Lewan (Titans), Ja’Wuan James (Dolphins)


DL: Aaron Donald (Rams), Timmy Jernigan (Ravens), Kony Ealy (Panthers), Justin Ellis (Raiders)
LB: Chris Borland (49ers), Khalil Mack (Raiders), C.J. Mosley (Ravens)
CB: Kyle Fuller (Bears), E.J. Gaines (Rams)
S: Deone Bucannon (Cardinals), Ha Ha Clinton-Dix (Packers)

Special teams:

K: Cody Parkey (Eagles)
P: Pat O’Donnell (Bears)
KR: Jarvis Landry (Dolphins)
PR: De’Anthony Thomas (Chiefs)
ST: Trey Burton (Eagles)

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply