Logan Kilgore

Saints, Eagles, Bears Down To 75 Players

The Saints have officially announced their roster cuts down to 75 players, and many of the names – most notably linebacker Victor Butler – have previously been reported. However, three players’ releases had previously been unreported. According to the team (via Twitter), quarterback Logan Kilgore, linebacker Kevin Reddick, and defensive back Rod Sweeting are among the players who didn’t make the cut down to 75.

The Eagles, who were vanquished from last year’s playoffs by New Orleans, have also finalized their 75-man roster in advance of this afternoon’s deadline. Sheil Kapadia of PhillyMag.com tweets that offensive lineman Julian Vandervelde has been waived by the team with an injury settlement. In a series of tweets, Vandervelde thanked the organization for the opportunity.

Meanwhile, a third NFC playoff contender has also trimmed its roster down to 75 players, with the Bears announcing today (via Twitter) that offensive lineman James Brown and cornerback Isaiah Frey are the latest roster casualties in Chicago.

All three teams, as well as the NFL’s other 29, will have until Saturday afternoon to further cut their rosters down to 53 active players.

Saints Sign 20 Undrafted Free Agents

7:57pm: In addition to Hull, the Saints have signed former Tulane defensive back Derrick Strozier, according to Strozier’s Twitter. Per Katherine Terrell of the Times-Picayune, Strozier, who also played a little offense in college, tried out for New Orleans as a running back.

SUNDAY, 4:43pm: The Saints have also signed former Illinois receiver Steve Hull, tweets Jason La Canfora of CBSSports.com.

WEDNESDAY, 4:24pm: The Saints added one more undrafted free agent to their haul, according to Aaron Wilson of the Baltimore Sun, who tweets that Akron DT Moses McCray signed with the club.

MONDAY, 11:53am: The Saints have become the latest club to formally announce their undrafted free agent class, confirming in a press release that they’ve agreed to terms with 17 new players. Here’s the complete list:

  • Matthew Armstrong, OL, Grand Valley State
  • Brandon Coleman, WR, Rutgers
  • Brian Dixon, DB, Northwest Missouri State
  • Kasim Edebali, OLB, Boston College
  • Tim Flanders, RB, Sam Houston State
  • Spencer Hadley, LB, Brigham Young
  • Je’Ron Hamm, TE, Louisiana-Monroe
  • Nic Jacobs, TE, McNeese State
  • Seantavius Jones, WR, Valdosta State
  • Logan Kilgore, QB, Middle Tennessee State State
  • Brandon McCray, DL, Louisiana-Lafayette
  • Micajah Reynolds, OL, Michigan State
  • George Uko, DL, USC
  • Chidera Uzo-Diribe, OLB, Colorado
  • Lawrence Virgil, DL, Valdosta State
  • Pierre Warren, S, Jacksonville State
  • Ty Zimmerman, S, Kansas State