Kellen Winslow, Ben Tate Join Spring League

The Spring League kicks off in April and it will feature some notable names looking to resurrect their football careers. Defensive end Greg Hardy, tight end Kellen Winslow Jr., cornerback Brandon Browner, and running back Ben Tate are among the players who have been confirmed as participants, according to a press release. Greg Hardy (vertical)

Winslow has not played in an NFL game since the 2013 season and we haven’t heard much from him since he worked out for the Packers last August. Tate, a former second-round pick, showed lots of promise in Houston but could not capitalize on a starting opportunity with the Browns in 2014. Hardy and Browner first committed to the league in early March.

The Spring League consists of four teams comprised of veteran free agents. The league will conduct practices and play six games from April 5 through April 26. Players who are currently on NFL rosters will not be eligible to participate.

The league has secured five quarterbacks thus far, including Chiefs 2011 fifth-round pick Ricky Stanzi and NFL practice squad journeyman McLeod Bethel-Thompson. At wide receiver, there’s former Ram Brandon Gibson, Jets 2014 fourth-round pick Jalen Saunders, and one-time Bills WR2 David Nelson. Former Jets defensive back Ellis Lankster and Texans 2013 third-round defensive tackle Sam Montgomery will also be suiting up for The Spring League next month.

The full list of players can be found below. In addition to those listed here, Pro Football Rumors has learned that another 30 players are expected to join prior to the start of training camp.


  • Hutson Mason
  • Ricky Stanzi
  • McLeod Bethel-Thompson
  • Zach Kline
  • Jeremy Cannon

Running backs

Wide receivers

  • Jalen Saunders
  • David Nelson
  • Kenzel Doe
  • Brandon Gibson
  • Daje’ Johnson
  • Gavin Lutman
  • Tyler McDonald
  • J.D. Woods
  • Sed Cunningham
  • Lawrence Smith
  • Terrance Lewis
  • Rashon Ceaser
  • Kendrick Wiggins

Tight ends

  • Kellen Winslow Jr.
  • Justin Tukes
  • Marcel Jensen
  • Adrian Hubbard
  • Jordan Thompson
  • Christoper Bazile
  • Jacob Harper
  • Jonathan Powell
  • Mandel Dixon
  • Cody Gibson

Offensive Lineman

  • Michael Brewster
  • Jordan Walsh
  • Lucas Powell
  • Amadou Konte
  • William Smith
  • Randall Harris
  • Trevan Brown
  • Mitchell Bell
  • Dominic Jackson



  • Joshua Gable


  • Ridge Wilson
  • Orie Lemon
  • Will Smith
  • Taylor McCuller
  • James Ross
  • Rennie Curran
  • Tavarius Wilson
  • Tyler Starr
  • Kyle Kragen
  • Zach Hodges
  • Tyrone Ward
  • Jewell Ratliff
  • Andrew Jackson
  • Sage Harold
  • Isaiah Bruce
  • Takari Johnson
  • Ezekiel Bigger

Defensive Ends

  • Greg Hardy
  • Rakim Cox
  • Francis Nouvi
  • Ryne Giddins
  • Elhadji Ndiaye
  • Jack Sherlock

Defensive Tackles



Long Snappers

  • Avery Rigg
  • Lance Schuffert
View Comments (4)