Patrick O’Connor

Buccaneers Set 53-Man Roster

Following the retirement of Tom Brady, the Buccaneers will be facing a pseudo-rebuild in 2023. Before they get to a challenging regular season, the team was forced to cut down their roster to 53 players today:




Waived/failure to disclose physical condition:

  • C Chris Murray

After sitting out the 2021 campaign, Deadrin Senat got into 12 games for Tampa Bay in 2022. The defensive tackle ultimately finished the campaign with 17 tackles, one sack, and a pair of QB hits. The former third-round pick got into 22 games for the Falcons to begin his career.

Buccaneers DL Pat O’Connor Suffered Season-Ending Knee Injury

The injuries keep coming for the Buccaneers. Defensive lineman Pat O’Connor suffered a season-ending knee injury during last night’s loss to the Saints, reports ESPN’s Adam Schefter (via Twitter).

[RELATED: Buccaneers’ Chris Godwin Done For Year]

Doctors believe O’Connor suffered a torn PCL and a partially torn MCL. While the core special teamer will get a second opinion before determining his next step, he’ll surely be sidelined for the rest of this season and the better part of the 2022 campaign.

O’Connor was a seventh-round pick by the Lions in 2017, and while he didn’t end up sticking with Detroit, he managed to find a home in Tampa Bay. The defensive lineman has spent the past four-plus seasons with the Buccaneers, appearing in 40 games. He saw time in all 16 games for the Bucs last season, and he made another four postseason appearances en route to a Super Bowl championship.

In 2021, the 28-year-old has appeared in 13 games, collecting four tackles and 0.5 sacks. He’s appeared mostly on special teams, getting into 100 percent of Tampa Bay’s ST snaps in seven games.

NFL Reserve/Futures Contracts: 12/31/18

New Year’s Eve marks the first day eliminated teams can sign players to reserve/futures contracts. Here is the first wave of those decisions:

Arizona Cardinals

Atlanta Falcons

Carolina Panthers

Detroit Lions

Green Bay Packers

Minnesota Vikings

New York Giants

Pittsburgh Steelers

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Tennessee Titans

Washington Redskins